The Race For Ohanaeze Ndigbo Positions Hots Up

 [ Masterweb Reports ]The race for various positions in Ohanaeze Ndigbo from local government to National levels has commenced.


The election will hold between late November and December 2012. Already an electoral committee has been set up to midwife the election. The constitution of the body zones the offices of the President-General, Secretary-General, Deputy President-General and Deputy Secretary-General. Among the top contenders for the Office of President-General are Chief Iga Igariwey, the present Deputy President-General, Dr Sam Egwu - a former governor of Ebonyi state, Dr Offiah Nwali, Chief Nweke Anyigor and Dr Aja Nwachukwu. The position is zoned to Ebonyi state and all the contenders are from the state.


The office of Secretary-General is zoned to Imo state; former Ohanaeze Deputy Secretary-General Dr Joe Chigoziem Nwaorgu is gunning for it. Other less visible candidates for the position include Dr Chidi Osuagwu - a lecturer in FUTO, Owerri, Prof Ezeadi and Chief Levi Oguakwa.


For the Publicity secretary, an old dogged horse, Ohanaeze activist/organiser and well known writer Comrade Chuks Ibegbu is gunning for the position which is however yet to be zoned. Ibegbu hails from Abia State and has been a tested hand in the Apex Igbo body. Other candidates for the postion may emerge as the contest gathers momentum.


The candidates for other positions will be known in the near future.


Igbo Information Network (IIN) reports.


*Photo Caption - Map of Igboland (homeland of Ndigbo of Nigeria) 

html add here