BreakingNews 18/11/13 - INEC Declares Anambra Governorship Election Inconclusive

[ Masterweb Reports ] - Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) failed to declare All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) candidate, Chief William Obiano ‘winner’ of the Anambra gubernatorial election with his majority votes of 174,710. Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate Comrade Tony Nwoye polled 94,956, trailed by Dr. Chris Ngige of APC with 92300 votes. INEC declared the election inconclusive because the total numbers of cancelled votes (113,113) was more than the difference (79,754)  between the number of votes cast for the ‘winner’ (APGA) and the runner up (PDP) in the election. Making this known this morning while reading results, the Returning Officer, Prof James Epoke, who is also Vice-Chancellor, University of Calabar (UNICAL), said a supplementary election would be conducted where the election was cancelled. He added that all parties that participated in the election would participate in the supplementary election
A total of 1,763,751 voters were registered for the election, with 451,826 accredited. Total valid votes was 413,005 and total number of rejected votes 16,544. Total votes cast was 429,549. APGA won in 16 of the 21 local government areas, APC won in two, PDP in two also and LP in one. All the local government collation officers were professors or senior staff of Unversity of Calabar.
Breakdown of Results Were As Follows:
Aguata: APC scored 5,275 votes, APGA polled 10,180, PDP got 4,275 votes, while LP polled 1,129.
Ayamelum: APC polled 1,827; APGA scored 9,121; PDP got 5,681 and LP (624). Total valid votes was 17,449.
Anambra East: APC 1,418; APGA (15,300), PDP (5,579) and LP (511). Total valid votes cast was 23,315.
Anambra West: APC scored 2,478; APGA (5,128), PDP (3966) and LP (321).
Anaocha: APC polled 3,174, APGA (14,563), PDP (2,948) and LP (733).
Awka North: APC scored 1,712 votes, APGA (5,385), PDP (3,943) and LP 474.
Awka South: APC polled 6,596, APGA (9,206), PDP (5,689) and LP (1,648).
Dunukofia: PDP polled the highest of votes followed by APGA (3,670), APC (3,522) and LP (1,236).
Ekwusigo: APGA polled 6,815, PDP (4,426), APC (2,958) and LP (1,692).
Idemilli North: APC polled 7,135, APGA (2,795), PDP (1,462) and LP (643).
 Idemili South: APC gathered 9,539 votes, APGA polled 2,899, PDP got 3,786 and LP 1,021.
Ihiala: APC scored 4,069; APGA (10,067), PDP (5,517) and LP (1,854).
Njikoka: APGA scored 10,753 votes, APC polled 4,585, PDP got 5,630 and LP 754.
Nnewi North: LP led with 18,014 votes, followed by APGA (4,846), APC (3,076) and PDP (1,942).
Nnewi South: APGA led with 8,145, followed by PDP (3,031), APC (2,676) and LP (2,214).
Ogbaru: APGA polled 11,716. Others are: APC (7,687), PDP (6,114) and LP (95).
Onitsha North: APGA scored 10,842 votes, APC (7,616), PDP (4,947) and LP (776).
Onitsha South: APGA led with 9,786 votes, APC (7,094), PDP (3,520) and LP (716). ¨
Orumba North: APGA polled 9,161 votes, PDP (4,567) and APC (3,343).
Orumba South: APGA (6,338), PDP (4,003), APC (3,147) and LP (1,265).
Oyi: PDP 9,123 votes, APGA (6,994), APC (3,373) and LP (206).
*Photo Caption - Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) logo.
html add here